Michael Parker elected to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

Posted: 07th October 2015

Professor Michael Parker, Deputy Director and Head of SVI’s Structural Biology Unit, was recognised for his contribution to medical research last night, with his election as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).

The academy promotes medical research and its translation to enable a healthier community both in Australia and the world. Fellows are elected for distinguished professional achievement in a field related to health and/or medicine.

Professor Michael Parker is Deputy Director of SVI and head of the Structural Biology Unit and the ACRF Rational Drug Discovery Centre. He is an NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow and a Professorial Fellow at the Bio21 Institute, Melbourne University.

The work of his laboratory is internationally recognised with the determination of more than 100 crystal structures, including those of membrane-associating proteins, detoxifying enzymes and protein kinases. This work has provided insights into a number of diseases such as cancer, bacterial and viral infections, and neurological diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease.

He has collaborated closely with leading Australian biotechnology companies including CSL and Biota as well as with international Pharmaceutical companies Cancer Research Technology UK and Servier.

His publications include papers with immediate impact, as well as enduring, seminal contributions to the field.

His international profile has enabled him to maintain and expand collaborations around the world including the US, UK, Switzerland, Sweden, Italy, Canada, Brazil, Greece and Spain.

His work has been recognised with numerous awards including the 2011 Lemberg Medal of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the 2011 Ramaciotti Medal for Excellence in Biomedical Research, the 2012 Federation of Asian and Oceanian Biochemists and Molecular Biologists Award for Research Excellence and the NHMRC Research Excellence Award for the top ranked Program Grant in 2014.

He was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2010.

For more information please see: Structural biology