I am a structural biologist with a strong background in protein purification, enzyme kinetics, assay design and protein engineering. I was trained in structural studies by Professor James Whisstock, A-Prof Sheena McGowan and Dr Ruby Law in the Dept. of Biochemistry at Monash University. There, I completed structure-function studies on DNA binding protein Myeloid and Erythroid Nuclear Termination protein (honours) and inhibitory neurotransmitter producing enzyme Glutamic Acid Decarboxylase (PhD), as well as stints as a research assistant working on both academic and commercial projects.

In 2013, I moved to SVI to join the world-renowned kinase biology laboratory of Professor Bruce Kemp, where I reinstated structural studies within the Protein Chemistry and Metabolism Unit. My research within the unit revolved around protein structure and function of metabolic enzymes, with a major focus on natural and synthetic regulation of the master-metabolic regulator AMP-activated Protein Kinase.

Currently, I’m a Team Leader, Protein Engineering in Immunity & Metabolism at SVI, where my team split their time between academic and commercial projects. My academic projects include natural and synthetic allosteric regulation of energy sensing proteins and engineering/design of protein-protein interactions. My team combines structural and biochemical techniques (X-ray crystallography, enzyme kinetics, SPR binding studies, protein engineering/design and mass spectrometry techniques like HDX-MS and phospho-proteomics) to provide a comprehensive view of the allosteric regulation of energy sensing proteins and protein-protein interactions. Strengthening my teams’ research capabilities, I have long-standing collaborations with experts in Cryo-EM, Cell Biology, in silico Protein Modelling and Medicinal Chemistry.

Key achievements

2022.   SVI Rising Star Award

202o  SVI Rising Star Post-Doctoral Research Award

2018-2021   NHMRC Early Career Research Fellowship

2018  Harold Mitchell Foundation post-doctoral travel fellowship

2017  EH Flack fellowship, the Marian and E.H. Flack trust

2016-2018  Jack Brockhoff Early Career Research Grant

2016   ASVI Directors’ award – Most outstanding publication, post-doctoral researcher

2016   Young Investigator award – 41st Lorne conference on Protein Structure and Function

2009   NHMRC Dora Lush PhD Scholarship

Selected publications

Ashley J Ovens, Yi Sing Gee, Naomi XY Ling, Dingyi Yu, Justin P Hardee, Jin D Chung, Kevin RW Ngoei, Nicholas J Waters, Nolan J Hoffman, John W Scott, Kim Loh, Katrin Spengler, Regine Heller, Michael W Parker, Gordon S Lynch, Fei Huang, Sandra Galic, Bruce E Kemp, Jonathan B Baell, Jonathan S Oakhill, Christopher G Langendorf (2022). Structure-function analysis of the AMPK activator SC4 and identification of a potent pan AMPK activator. Biochemical Journal. 479 (11), p. 1181-1204

Christopher G Langendorf, Matthew T O’Brien, Kevin RW Ngoei, Luke M McAloon, Urmi Dhagat, Ashfaqul Hoque, Naomi XY Ling, Toby A Dite, Sandra Galic, Kim Loh, Michael W Parker, Jonathan S Oakhill, Bruce E Kemp, John W Scott (2020). CaMKK2 is inactivated by cAMP-PKA signaling and 14-3-3 adaptor proteins. Journal of Biological Chemistry. 295 (48), p. 16239-16250.

Stephen L Pinkosky, John W Scott, Eric M Desjardins, Brennan K Smith, Emily A Day, Rebecca J Ford, Christopher G Langendorf, Naomi XY Ling, Tracy L Nero, Kim Loh, Sandra Galic, Ashfaqul Hoque, William J Smiles, Kevin RW Ngoei, Michael W Parker, Yan Yan, Karsten Melcher, Bruce E Kemp, Jonathan S Oakhill, Gregory R Steinberg (2020). Long-chain fatty acyl-CoA esters regulate metabolism via allosteric control of AMPK β1 isoforms. Nature metabolism. 2 (9), p. 873-881

Kevin RW Ngoei, Christopher G Langendorf, Naomi XY Ling, Ashfaqul Hoque, Swapna Varghese, Michelle A Camerino, Scott R Walker, Ylva E Bozikis, Toby A Dite, Ashley J Ovens, William J Smiles, Roxane Jacobs, He Huang, Michael W Parker, John W Scott, Mark H Rider, Richard C Foitzik, Bruce E Kemp, Jonathan B Baell, Jonathan S Oakhill (2018). Structural determinants for small-molecule activation of skeletal muscle AMPK α2β2γ1 by the glucose importagog SC4. Cell chemical biology. 25 (6), p. 728-737.

Toby A Dite, Christopher G Langendorf, Ashfaqul Hoque, Sandra Galic, Richard J Rebello, Ashley J Ovens, Lisa M Lindqvist, Kevin RW Ngoei, Naomi XY Ling, Luc Furic, Bruce E Kemp, John W Scott, Jonathan S Oakhill (2018). AMP-activated protein kinase selectively inhibited by the type II inhibitor SBI-0206965. Journal of Biological Chemistry. 293 (23), p. 8874-8885.

Christopher G Langendorf, Kevin RW Ngoei, John W Scott, Naomi XY Ling, Sam MA Issa, Michael A Gorman, Michael W Parker, Kei Sakamoto, Jonathan S Oakhill, Bruce E Kemp (2016). Structural basis of allosteric and synergistic activation of AMPK by furan-2-phosphonic derivative C2 binding. Nature communications. 7 (1), p. 10912.